Please bear with us…

Motherhood is hard. Not everybody knows this: People that don’t have children or anything to do with them, people who had children tens of years ago and therefore can’t remember exactly what it’s like early on, people who don’t like children, children themselves, me before I had a child…. the list goes on.  Today I had to get myself and William presentable to see the midwife. I have about one good get up and out a week, which was Thursday. Today; not so much. William fed more often last night AND would not settle. This morning he decided a productive use of his time was screaming the place down and pissing all over mummy. Whilst cleaning baby urine of myself,  William took the opportunity to throw up all over himself.  Whilst this was going on I was attempting to resemble a person capable of looking after a baby and was finding the scream-a-thon hard to deal with. I cried too. What a pair.
All went well at with the midwife, our little chunker is now 10lb 2oz my stitches are healing well (was in two minds about whether I wanted her to check them but so many people have now seen my lady-parts I figured one more wouldn’t hurt), and we’ve been signed off midwife care, huzzarh! Afterwards we met Nanny and Aunty in a local shopping area for coffee. It was quarter to two and the coffee my mother in law brought me was the first drink I’d had all day. William enjoyed cuddles and did his angel baby routine, the one that leads people to believe he’s that calm and collected all the time and I have nothing to complain about. But the truth is I’d sat in the car in tears before meeting them.
In short please bear with us.
I have so many people to see and thank for cards, gifts and kind words after Williams birth but on some days I don’t eat until my husband get s home. I am not a very organised person, and I am terribly forgetful (head like a sieve according to my grandma… she was right), that coupled with baby brain and you have a recipe for something that looks sort of human(ish) but with none of the mental capacities. We appreciate everything we’ve received and we are whole-heartedly thankful, we just might not have got round to telling you yet…
In other news:
I have found my glasses! They were lurking under the sofa with an old smartie, a multitude of cat toys and bird feathers…
William sneezed in my mouth yesterday.
Captain, whilst chasing a fly round the living room during a 2:00am feed, has disposed of a large spider that has been in the corner of our living room so long I had actually become quite attached to it.  Fare thee well Sir Legsalot.
Author: thebumpchroniclesblog

Thirty year old first time mum, sharing parenthood experiences/fails.

Leave a Reply

