The post Christmas, pre-new year limbo.

I am writing this trusting you all has a lovely Christmas.

We did.

I have to say, I did wonder if Christmas would be one of those times when I feel like a uterus on legs, If I haven’t mentioned this before, when you have a baby, nobody cares about you anymore. Sometimes I think hubs and I could wonder in somewhere with our hair on fire and no-one would notice This is not to say we begrudge the adoration that s piled onto Wills, we absolutely don’t! This year we decided to have Christmas at home, just the three of us. You see as much as a big family Christmas is most excellent, having a young baby throws several problems at spending Christmas in someone else’s house:

The absolute shit- tonne of paraphernalia that is required in order to transport said tiny human, for even the shortest of visits

The fact that drinking dangerous amounts of fizz followed by pretty much every other kind of alcoholic beverage (‘Oh go on, it’s Christmas after all…’) is not really something you can do when you have to look after a baby. (You could of course have a designated drinker, but from personal experience you tend to watch them getting merrier with each glass as you sip your fourteenth coke plotting their death)

Despite the fact that you have your baby all day every day, after a while of watching him being cuddled and passed round, you want him back. And if you’re like me, worry about offending anyone so sit quietly with an ache for your little one.

We gave family members a window of opportunity to pop round, as our intention wasn’t to keep anyone from seeing Wills we just  wanted to have a relaxing day. And we did! The cats even joined us for dinner! (The furry little shitehawks.)

Boxing day was spent with family and there are still more people to see. We are currently in the limbo that is the week between Christmas and New Year. This time raises many questions; Is it still socially acceptable to drink as early/as much as I did on Christmas day? Shall I make a new years resolution? What shall I resolve to do? Is it acceptable to adopt the ‘I’m going to tell more people to fuck off’ resolution I found on Facebook? Perhaps I shouldn’t worry about offending people but I’m pretty sure there has to be some sort of line…. (If I cared less about upsetting people, I’d probably have more of a ‘bugger the line!’ attitude. I can’t decide if that would be a good thing or not)

After returning from Kev’s parents early this afternoon I decided to do some clearing out, we have lots of lovely new possessions  that need a home and too much crap. Both hubs and I have a tendency to hoard, so it’s good to keep sorting so we don’t up on one of those TV programmes I find so fascinating.

So that’s what we’re dealing with.

In the blink of an eye our very first Christmas with a little  one was over, Wills had a great time smacking all his presents and trying to eat wrapping paper, hubs enjoyed taking the reigns on a not quite so traditional beef wellington for dinner and I can’t wait for the next one!

*wonders if it’s too early for a glass of wine*

*Decides it probably is*

*Probably*

In other news:

Marms has been sick on the lawn. Makes a refreshing change from the carpet.

Wills can now get his foot into his mouth he seems very pleased with this new found flexibility

Guess who brought their son a ‘First Christmas’ card and forgot to write it out….. Yep, but he’ll never know we wrote it after the big day.

 

 

Author: thebumpchroniclesblog

Thirty year old first time mum, sharing parenthood experiences/fails.

Leave a Reply

